Thursday, May 7, 2015
Dogs
This seems to be a recurring theme. My dogs. Lets start from the beginning. Ever since I was born, I have been around dogs. They were a big part of my life growing up. For better or worse. Better being that they were there for me when no one (human being) was. They would sit with me for hours. wagging their happy little tails, kissing me on the cheek while I sat and cried. I would sit in our basement with them for hours. The worse part of having dogs, the death. It was never easy and it always felt like I was loosing one more times than not. My mom always threatening to get rid of the dogs when I didn't clean up after them enough, or when they made her mad. She would yell and tell me, that's it their gone! I would yell no! Run to the basement where they were kept and cry. I would run away with them first before she would take them from me. She never did. Not really... I mean there was this puppy that our dog gave birth to that I wanted to keep. I begged and begged. The puppy reminded me of another dog I lost. A dog that got hit by a car and died. My dog. This puppy has the same personality and followed me everywhere. This puppy was very protective of me. I begged. I came home from school one day and the puppy was gone. My dad gave it away, while I was at school so I couldn't stop him. I was hurt. I cried for days. Maybe in some way I never really forgave him. Maybe that's why I'm so sad about my current situation. My husband hates dogs. He didn't grow up with any. Not really. He owned one dog in his life time. That dog stayed chained to a box in the backyard because it stunk and his mom didn't want it in the house. Our dogs stink. They stink and my husband hates it. They stink. They bark. They poop. These are all things he hates about our dogs. These are things he makes me feel bad about. He hates them So much that I'm the main one taking care of them and sticking up for them. They are dogs, I tell him. All dogs have an Oder. We have an Oder. He comes home from work and doesn't let them out of the cage they are in because he wants to relax and not deal with them. When I bring this up to him, he simply replies, get rid of them and neither of us will have to worry about it. I mean. Sometimes yes, they annoy me. I mean even my husband annoys me. I do what anyone does and vents. Those dogs drive me nuts sometimes with their barking, I say. Lets get rid of them he chimes in. NO! I shout. You complain about them he says, I don't like dogs, he says, problem solved. Just because I complain doesn't mean I want to get rid of them or hate them. I don't want to loose my dogs. I also don't like the constant remarks from my husband and the way he treats them or what he says about them. Another complication to my dogs. His mother. The one whom chained their childhood dog out because it stunk. While shes not shunning of my dogs to the outside when we visit from 2 hours away with them. She constantly messages my husband and tells him to bathe them before we come so they don't stink up her house. And he does. Why does this piss me off? Because he wont bathe them for our house. He wont do anything for them, or for me. but when his mother asks, he does it. So this bothers me. This and the fact that she makes us bathe them. Its like she is better than us or our dogs. When they come visit my dogs have to stay locked in a cage. Not to keep them from being bothered by the dogs. but to keep them from being mean to my dogs. Now don't get me wrong. once in a while she will get a stray hair up her butt and pet them once. And im thankful she even lets them stay at her house, it just all the other stuff that comes along with it. Also, my in laws go camping a lot. So when we visit with the dogs they are no way allowed in the camper. So I have to stay at their house with the dogs. I say then there's not point in me going... to my husband. And what does he reply? SO get rid of the dogs, problem solved. Ewwww I so sick of hearing this!!! I am so sick of being punished for having something that makes me happy. I feel screwed either way. If I keep them I deal with crap. if I get rid of them like he says, I will be sad. What to do!!!
A place to rant
This blog is a place that I will write what is on my mind. All the things I would never say out loud. Everything that I think about on a daily basis. Mainly when Im having a bad day. They say getting it out makes us feel better. Well that is what I intend to do with this blog. Feel free to chime in with your thoughts and advice. However, please be courteous and kind.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)